RSS

Your Opinion Matters…And Doesn’t

08 Feb

* this is somewhat admittedly hypocritical*

It was on my mind to start a blog for about a year.  I finally made the move to do so this past October.  Before doing so however, I took time to read up on blogging styles, content, and the best sites to use as a blogging template.  I also wondered, “whats am I going to write about, and what OS the point of a blog”?  I try to read a variety ones, but for the most part  I mean, most of the ones I’ve read seem to have the same underlying premise.  What is that?

Glad you asked.

Expressing opinions, viewpoints and sharing experiences seems is the answer.  And this is for both the Blogger and their audience.  Subject matters vary, but the need to espouse thoughts and allow others to do the same is what all Bloggers do.  Some of the subject is light-hearted, some personal, and some down right serious.  Something that also struck me though; we all (including myself) want these opinions to matter.  The funny thing is; they often don’t.  This isn’t to say none ever do, but the chances of our thoughts and opinions changing thinking, well, I’ll take the under on that bet.  Yes, some folks will agree and some will disagree, but at the end of the day, will what someone read on a blog matter?  We all strive to make a difference.  Yet, if they difference doesn’t impact someone’s life for the better (even to just give a laugh) is it really worth it?

I may be getting too serious here, but there are so many blogs that cater to different audiences.  It may not be millions of people, but a blogger’s place in the blogosphere is a spot that can and will affect a life, somewhere.  This space can create a place where frank discussion, and the sharing of ideas can take place.  In other words, blogs are a powerful medium.

I say this to say, you never know who is reading what you, or your commenters write.  For some, it’s just a different point of view.  For others, the words can change someone’s outlook on a situation.  The question is, what is your end game?

Agree?  Disagree?  Is it too serious?  Talk to me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/08/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Your Opinion Matters…And Doesn’t

  1. NiceCakes

    02/14/2012 at 10:07 am

    While I have never been a fan of blogs, your post did shed some light on my viewpoint of blogs. Ultimately I agree. I do believe that ppls opinions matter, and don’t matter. I do agree that some blogs can help give ppl insight, and in fact change the way ppl may handle different situations. As far as changing their thinking, it may or may not. I guess it remains to be seen. I don’t think its too serious, I think posts like that will help ppl get a better sense of their voice, and things that need to be said and heard in today’s society.

     
  2. NinaG

    03/06/2012 at 3:26 pm

    I read a variety of blogs.
    I love my art (music, literary, film) blogs because they expose me to new things I might enjoy.
    I love personal blogs b/c a lot of times I get insights on life from other folks perspectives. I also find people putting my feelings into words and feeling comforted by this.
    And as an introvert, I suck at small talk, I prefer conversations w/ depth and I can’t always find people in real life to fulfill my preference so blogs it is! LOL

     

What say you?

 
