RSS

The Redux

18 Jun

When I started this blog, the driving force behind it was to be a place to share Godly thoughts and insights, from the viewpoint of a regular guy.  Almost from the inception however, that mission got sidetracked by my personal need to get some stuff off my chest.  It’s funny how man’s desire to put himself first can cause God to hold fast until we get back in order isn’t it?  Anyway, after a few posts about fatherhood, and the gift and course of blogging (from a novice’s perspective), I drew a blank the last couple of months about what to write about, hence this being the first post in  some time.  Recently, someone suggested that I start blogging again, and share some of the same insights that I share among a group of men I know.  Since the desire was still there, I figured to get back to it.

This is that new (old) foray into the blogosphrere.

For me to get serious about this, I had to decide on a new name for the blog as well.  The Suburban Thug didn’t necessarily have the most godly of connotations, nor was it screaming godly writing.  I chose Glip Post because it’s simply an acronym for Godly Living Is Practical.  Easy right?  It should have been, but it took a few weeks of serious brainstorming to come up with that. 

The retained purpose for the now Glip Post is not to beat people over the head with Jesus, but to show the transitions He makes in the lives of those who choose to follow Him.  For some, these changes are quite monumental; for others the changes are incremental.  The key is that these changes affect all aspects of our lives, how we live, think, and act.  As it says in 1 Corinthians 3: 6,7; “I planted the seeds in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it was God who made it grow. It’s not important who does the planting, or who does the watering. What’s important is that God makes the seed grow”. In the same thinking, I want to avail myself to Christ, and be used to plant seeds in people’s  lives.  Living this life is a struggle: nobody ever said following Christ was easy.  I stumble EVERY, SINGLE, DAY.  Sometimes on the same things.  However, I also know that Jesus started his ministry at 30 years of age; I see no reason he can’t use me to minister to others starting at 32.

It’s going to be an interesting journey, and I hope to be as transparent as possible on this journey, but I hope it is one that will be helpful, but more importantly impactful to others.  So, for the second time, let me welcome you all to the musings at the former Suburban Thug, now Glip Post.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 06/18/2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

What say you?

 
