RSS

My Spiritual Walk, My Twitter

27 Jul

I resisted the urge to join Twitter until 2011.  It always seemed like a waste of time; something to take attention away from more pressing matters.  As with all situations though, once I learned more about it, I realized that my first assumption was correct, yet I also found out that Twitter can be quite beneficial, if used for noble purposes.  I’ve found it is useful for picking up information (sometimes incorrect) as well as disseminating information.  Sports teams, companies, political figures, and even governments have Twitter accounts now.

Since it has increase accessibility, which is the main point of social media after all, churches and pastors are utilizing it as well.  There are a plethora of ways to use it, but the two I’ll focus on: how Twitter can enhance, or stunt spiritual growth; sometimes simultaneously.  See, it’s a wonderful thing to be able to used technology and social media to spread the word about God, and no, not the deistic “god”, but the one true God.  Jesus’s daddy.  The ability to connect with other like-minded folks only strengthens God’s kingdom.  That is one of the benefits of loving and living for God.

One of the issues with Twitter though, is that as easily as positive information is shared, destructive information is as well.  I mean really, how many timelines (TLs) have soul-filling tweets and soul-wrenching tweets right on top of each other?  This is more so a rhetorical question.  Why?  Because my TL is a case study in it.

I know roughly 1/3 of all who I follow do not post anything relatively beneficial to my spiritual walk.  What it does feed is my flesh though.  Now, you’re probably thinking, “Glip that’s antithetical to your need to connect with God”.  Well, you’re right.  It is.  See, this particular leaf that I decided to turn over a few months ago, has been found to be heavier than I anticipated.  The Holy Spirit has given me the strength to wean myself off of all the folks I was following.  My carnal nature has brought some of them back.  I just say this to be transparent: it’s a daily struggle.  For the most part though, I don’t miss any of the random nothingness I was reading either.  The question then becomes, “why was I following them then”?

Simply put, it was fun and enjoyable.  Not beneficial for my soul admittedly, but fun nonetheless.  “Everything being permissible, but not everything being good” is an apt, paraphrased verse for this.  I don’t knock folks for who they follow, or do not.  But, we have to be wise about what we read and allow into our minds.  Really, what we feed ourselves says as much about what we ingest, as who we are and what comes out of our thoughts.

As I was saying though, I’ve gone about unfollowing some people who brought foolishness to my TL, and replaced them with more soul-nurturing follows.  Some of the newer follows I initiated challenge by knowledge and perception of God.  They make me want to learn more about the facets of Him.  Even before sharing His word, that’s what it’s about right?  Getting to know Him for ourselves and getting more intimate with Him as he reveals Himself to us, right?  If Twitter can help us do this, and it is helping me, then cool.  If not though, then what are we really using it for?

Do you use Twitter?  Am I on point here, or too serious?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 07/27/2012 in 30in30, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Spiritual Walk, My Twitter

  1. fourpageletter

    12/20/2012 at 11:48 pm

    not at all! (being too serious). im an avid twit (wait….) and know that it’s become a part of my life. i dont shy away from this. its funny how many do, and dont want to take responsibility for their tweets. from God, to sports, to shows to sex and everything in between – my tweets are a reflection of every part of me. i engage in conversation from serious to silly. i follow people who are similar in that fashion. i unfollow people on a regular that tweet something so egregious that its better than to try and argue.

    But, we have to be wise about what we read and allow into our minds. Really, what we feed ourselves says as much about what we ingest, as who we are and what comes out of our thoughts. <—THIS. exactly this. it cracks me up people complain about their timelines as if they werent the architect of it.

    great post!

     
    • Darrk Gable

      12/21/2012 at 12:46 am

      Much obliged. Glad you it was relatable to you.

       

What say you?

 
