RSS

Day 3: Reviewing “I Want You to Shut The F€#k Up!”

06 Sep

*This will be the first of a couple of book reviews during this month.*

I’m a semi avid reader. In a month I’ll probably read two or three books. My pattern is always the same; one or two “easy” reads, and a “hard” read. The object is to keep the selections diverse, so as to have a well rounded opinion on a variety of issues. Usually, I try to read spiritually based books. This was one of the times I didn’t, as the title suggests. Once I got past the title though, what I found was not only a practical book, but an engaging one as well.

I Want You To Shut The F#&k Up (IWYTSTFU) is DL Hughley’s take on what’s going on with America. It’s not an opus to how great the country is, nor is it a pull up the bootstraps, we can be good again how to guide. What it IS, is an honest assessment of where the Nation is, and how we got here. Since Hughley is, by trade a comedian, comedy is mixed in throughout the points that he makes. More importantly however, is the sensible (read common sense), and practical way he relays how his experiences speak to the broader issues that are tackled. Now do I agree with everything he said and his takes on them? Not necessarily. Nevertheless, his points made sense and most resonated with me.

Hughley stated a couple of times in the book that he isn’t a particularly spiritual person. I respect that. Even the most practical of believers can see the merits in his arguments though. Many of them are based on the precepts that Jesus Himself espoused and taught. Perhaps Hughley is more spiritual than he realizes? Either way, it is quite evident that the man is onto something and is headed in the right direction when it comes to sharing knowledge.

Finally, I do highly recommend IWYTSTFU. The book provides its share of laughs. But, also provides an understanding of where we are, and how as a nation we got to this point. The title suggests there’s some profanity, and while not gratuitous, it is in the book. However, if able to get past that, the book is well worth the read.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 09/06/2012 in Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Day 3: Reviewing “I Want You to Shut The F€#k Up!”

What say you?

 
