RSS

#30in30 Day 13: The Entitlement Rant

19 Sep

Generally speaking, I have an idea about what I’m going to write about, and today was no different.  However, my original subject I’ll save for another day.  What I will focus on today though is entitlement, or the feeling of entitlement.

Merriam-Webster dictionary defines entitlement as; “the feeling or belief that one deserves certain privileges”.  Basically, it’s when a person feels as though somebody or some “thing” owes the person something.  When this school of thought first emerged is debatable.  What isn’t debatable is that this thinking is quite prevalent.  There was a discussion raging on Twitter (where else) earlier about tipping at restaurants and bars.  To me, the tipping debate is a small microcosm of the entitlement ethos.  “Just because I choose to frequent your establishment and yes, your service is exemplary, I still won’t tip you.”  In other words, you owe me because I’m doing you a favor by letting you serve me.  Really? 

Life never has been like that, no matter what the prevailing thought is now.  What people have to realize is that “nobody owes them anything”.  It’s a cliche at this point to say or hear it, but it’s still the truth.  Outside of our homes, which  basically is the husband-wife, parent-child, and owner-pet relationships, what we’re entitled to is shat; nothing.  Anybody who says otherwise is setting others, as well as themselves, up to fail in life.  In a sense, saying “so and so owes me” is akin to blaming others for what happens in your life.  Is anything truly in the hands of people?  Unless it’s where a person’s two feet are at any given moment or their reaction to a given situation, then NO, it is not.

If people would be honest with themselves, they’d notice what fuels entitlement.  Often, depression or even laziness, can lead to feelings of entitlement.  This isn’t to say that there aren’t some institutional factors and social constructs that attempt to dissuade progress.  Racism, sexism, class warfare, and socio-economic disparities first come to mind.  However, for everyone who let’s this get in their way, there is someone else who uses it for fuel to overcome and get what they work for.  Another “-ism” that fuels the entitlement ideology is capitalism, but that’s for another rant.

As the entitlement wave continues to slowly overtake society, it’ll be up to the parents to slow it down. At least the parents who understand the “nobody owes you anything” concept. Parents like *points thumbs at self* me.

I have two daughters who love deeply. Up until this point, God has only blessed me with daughters. To me, that says He trusts me to raise these little girls the right way. Part of doing so is preparing them for the world they will enter; not the one I and their mothers wish existed. I love them and will always be tender with them, but I’d be less than their Daddy if I sent them into the world not knowing the basic truths of life.

Chief amongst these truths is making sure that my girls know and truly understand that having a relationship with Christ is most important. The second most important though? Yup, NOBODY IN THE WORLD OWES THEM ANYTHING. Their mothers will “coo-coo and aw baby” if they so desire; that’s what Mommies do. Me, I must let them know that the work they do will be what gets them a proverbial seat at the table. I’ll teach them not to look for handouts, and know how to stand on their own. It may sound harsh, but if I had sons, I’d be the same way. I want my girls to have the option to join with man and have them enhance each other’s lives, not to expect it. If they aren’t able to take care of their own needs sans man, why should a man be expected to take care of them?

Feelings of entitlement are a problem. It can be rectified, but it’ll take work. When society is ready to deal with it on an honest level, I and others who think like me, will have to be ready to change the thinking.

The rant session is done. Agree? Disagree?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 09/19/2012 in 30in30, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “#30in30 Day 13: The Entitlement Rant

  1. Rae

    09/19/2012 at 2:03 pm

    Agree. Entitlement is running rampant across the board these days. But I don’t understand why folks think people owe them anything. No one does. I’ve never quite understood that. Maybe it’s how I was raised + my personality. Now there are some folks who do own me money and a few favors – lol – but besides that all I can ask for is respect from those outside of my circle. Nice post!

     
    • Darrk Gable

      09/20/2012 at 12:45 pm

      I feel all that. Like I said, it’s why I’m going to raise my daughters to understand, they not owed a MFing thing! My oldest daughter’s mother and my wife may not like it. But, the girls will be know Daddy prepared me for this world.

       

What say you?

 
