RSS

#30in30 Day 26: End Of One Chapter, The Start Of Another

30 Sep

It’s been an interesting journey attempting to write 30 blog post in 30 days.  This being number 26 out of 30, I could say that I failed.  In terms of meeting my goal, I shot for the moon, but ended up amongst the stars. I managed to learn somethings about myself during these 30 days.

It’s a cliche, but I really can do what I set my mind to. My goal was to be disciplined enough to write a variety of blog posts. Somedays, I woke up having nothing on my mind. But I’d read something, or see something and instantly, I knew I had it. I can dedicate myself to something and see it through.

Another thing I learned about me: I need to get out of my comfort zone more. When I stretched myself on new topics, I found that I could be just as good, if not better, at writing about the new stuff, versus what I knew. It’s this reason I know that reading is as important to a writer as the tools of the trade. If knowledge isn’t expanding, then a persons’ ability to form coherent arguments suffers. A lack of clear thought in writing can confuse the reader, thus leaving a chance for assumptions.

Something else that hit me that I mentioned before is that I thoroughly enjoyed the process. I have no idea if it will lead to a career for me or not. If it doesn’t, I’m okay with that. What I won’t be okay with is if I stop writing. It fulfills me in a way not many other things can. The passion for something that I’ve been looking for, I found it in writing.

I want people to be able to see a difference in what I “sounded” like in my first post and this one. I know there are rules to English and grammar; for the most part I follow them. However, the more I do something, the better at it I should get. If not, then there’s a problem. Luckily people outside the family (God bless ’em) have praised my work. For a person who doesn’t really share his work with strangers, this is big. I guess it’s related to the getting out of my comfort zone.

To say this process was more about writing than self-discovery, in hindsight, would be a lie. I learned more about me, and what I believe God’s purpose for me is, than proper formatting of a blog. It’s important yes. But, if I hadn’t learned about me, then all the extra lessons and knowledge I gained would’ve been for naught. Nothing is worse than experiencing something positive and not changing ones’ perspective to accommodate the new knowledge. Had I disregarded me, I’d be right back where I was the day before my first post.

Yet another truth that revealed itself was that I expect things to fall into my lap. If I wanted the answer to why was I not getting noticed, all I had to do was look in the mirror. There is a picture that stipulates
image

the mentality that I had to develop. I had to make myself known. The verse that says “faith without works is dead” fits here. I wanted something to happen, but I wasn’t investing time in it, nor myself, to ensure my success. Once I started doing that, my fortunes began to change.

Lastly, I say that I thought this was going to be the end of something. Really, it’s only the end of this chapter of my life. As a new month dawns, I will not be posting everyday. But it will be twice a week on average. I’m not going to hold what’s pent up inside to myself. Instead I am going to find places where I can share this calling of mine. I’ll have to be proactive about doing so, but I must.

Let the next chapter begin.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 09/30/2012 in 30in30, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “#30in30 Day 26: End Of One Chapter, The Start Of Another

  1. JDoubleU

    09/30/2012 at 9:56 pm

    “I want people to be able to see a difference in what I “sounded” like in my first post and this one.”

    That’s exactly how I look at my writing! I applaud you for sticking w/ the #30in30 because it’s not easy at all. W/ Twitter, thankfully, there’s no shortage of topics or snippets to expound on LOL but to write something fresh every single day for an entire month is harder than it seems. I admire everybody that’s been able to do so and you’ve put out some quality posts. Congrats on the SBM feature too btw!

     
    • Darrk Gable

      09/30/2012 at 11:20 pm

      Thanks sir. I really appreciate that. My goal now is to do two or three a week and just find ways to get my name out there. I’ve had a few folks who are have really encouraged me on this journey. I’m going to be checking for yours too.

       

What say you?

 
