RSS

Love Letter To The Black Woman

06 Jan

Where do I begin? What can I possibly say to let you know how I feel?

Do I start off by telling you how fine I think you are? Nope.  That only speaks to your outward self…though, for the record, you are so, so fine.

Do I begin by saying how you’re everything any man would want in a woman?  Nah.  That’s not really telling you anything because it’s so damn basic and general.  But that it factor a woman *has* to have?  You embody it.

Those starting points are ok, but “from the heart” is the best place to begin, so here goes…

Things haven’t been easy for you.  For some time now, you’ve had to be so many things to so many people; no doubt your tired.  It’s time I took the burden off of your shoulders and allowed you to lean on me.

For once, let me be the strength that you need.  Let me protect you from the cares of this world.  Let me provide a place of refuge that you can escape to when “it” all becomes too much.  Let me do these things because, simply, I love you.  And because I do, I will.

I’ve cherished you since before I even knew I was supposed to.  The greatness that is in me was birthed by you. You’ve been a teacher to me; you’ve shown me what a fulfilled person looks like.  All at a cost of “you”, and you never complained.  You’ve poured out strength from a reserve that only The Creator could’ve given you; it seems endless.

You always find a way to make magic happen, turning nothing into something.  Society hasn’t been kind to you, calling you names and looking to make you fit a stereotype that’s the antithesis of what you are…the prototype.  And that’s said with utmost reverence.  You are the earth that we all came from; the nurturing element that brought, and continues to bring forth greatness.

When I imagine my life without you, I see nothing. There’s no me without you. I cease to exist if I don’t nurture what’s inside you. It may be selfish, but I need you to survive.  And because I know this, I’ll do what’s necessary to ensure you feel alive.

The future of us is contained within you, your heart, and your womb. The younger (just as precious) versions of you shall be cherished and adored.  I will show the younger (protective of you) versions of me how to cherish and adore them.

Taking care of you has been a responsibility that I’ve neglected for far too long.  When I see the glimpses of your radiating light, my desire is for you to illuminate more of my world.  And not just mine, but the entire world. It’s only the right, and natural order of things.

I can never seem to find the right words to truly express how I feel about you…but, this time?  I say simply, “black woman, you are everything that is right in this world. I adore you, I believe in you, and I embrace the wonderfulness that is you.”

Lovingly Yours,

A Black Man

 
11 Comments

Posted by on 01/06/2014 in Life, Love & Admiration

 

Tags: , ,

11 responses to “Love Letter To The Black Woman

  1. DeeJourney of a Fab Mom

    01/06/2014 at 10:25 pm

    *virtual snaps*
    I mean, what didn’t you touch on. Done deal. Loved it!

    Dee

     
    • Darrk Gable

      01/07/2014 at 1:47 pm

      In the grandest of schemes, black women really are awesome…and anyone who can’t appreciate them need not be in their vicinity.

       
  2. chunk

    01/07/2014 at 1:39 pm

    Feeling valued changes everything. Thank you for this.

     
  3. Amy Juicebox

    01/07/2014 at 2:07 pm

    *wipes tears from my eyes*

     
  4. ty knighten

    01/07/2014 at 11:35 pm

    Love this!!!

     
  5. trinityizreal

    01/08/2014 at 7:34 am

    Thank you for this Sir, it’s simply beautiful! It’s encouraging and inspiring. God bless!

     
  6. pld197333

    04/30/2014 at 9:50 pm

    Simply beautiful!! Thank you!

     
  7. Eugenia Wright

    02/05/2018 at 5:02 pm

    This was amazing! Who is the author? I would like to highlight you name when I read this for black history month.

     
    • Darrk Gable

      02/05/2018 at 5:10 pm

      Actually, I am the author of that. You want the pen name, or actual name?

       

What say you?